Homemade Body Scrub

Image

Winter isn’t approaching as quickly as it normally does, but I’ve still been noticing my skin beginning to dry out. Occasionally, I’ll use a scrub from Sephora called Sugar Crush made by the brand SOAP & GLORY. When I turned the jar around to look at the ingredients, I was disappointed with what this “natural” product contained. This list is as follows:

Glycerin, Sea Salt, Sucrose, Polysorbate 20, Glyceryl Stearate, Butylene Glycol, Sodium Chloride, Peg-100 Stearate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Sweet Almond Oil, Macadamia Integrifolia Shell Powder, Lime Oil, Dioctyl Adipate, Fragrance, Benzyl Alcohol, Castor Seed Oil, Stearalkonium Hectorite, Talc, Propylene Carbonate, Propylene Glycol, Bha, Propyl Gallate, Limonene, Linalool, Citral, Citric Acid, Ci 77492 (Iron Oxides), Ci 77499 (Iron Oxides), Ci 77491 (Iron Oxides).

Why should a scrub that is supposed to exfoliate and rejuvenate my skin contain so many alcohol derivatives, which notoriously have a drying effect? I thought about what happens to this scrub after it washes off of my skin and down the drain. These excess ingredients must then be filtered out of the water it has contaminated. Thinking of the main ingredients of this scrub and other things I had in my kitchen that I thought to have moisturizing properties, I devised my own scrub. In the photo above you’ll see the end product.

In my scrub:

About 1 1/2 cups brown sugar, 2 tsp cinnamon, 1 cup olive oil, 1 cup apple puree (just placed 1 1/2 apples in a blender with some water after removing the skin), 3 TB coconut oil

After mixing all ingredients together I applied the combination to my left leg and foot and used the Sugar Crush on the right side to compare. After rinsing, my left leg felt soft and also had a beautiful tint of color (from the cinnamon, I assume).The exfoliation properties of the homemade mixtures felt much nicer on my skin throughout the application and rinsing processes. My right leg felt soft for about 10 minutes after drying off and within 20 minutes it was clear I was going to need to apply lotion.

With a transition to a homemade scrub, I will no longer be washing glycerin, other alcohols and synthetic “fragrance” down my drain. I feel much better about exfoliating and will definitely not be going back to the store-bought scrub. The best part? My total amount of ingredient used cost about $3. The Sugar Crush brand goes for $20 at Sephora!

Happy homesteading!

Leave a Reply

